Watchdog XC Sweep Team Titles

Sep 29

Beresford Boys and Girls Sweep Team Titles

By: Matt Coy

The Beresford boys and girls swept the team championships at the Colman-Egan Invitation cross country meet, held Wednesday, September 26 at the Sunrise Ridge golf course.

Freshman Anna Atwood continued to the lead the way for the girls’ team with a strong 4thplace finish on the soggy 5K course. Her time of 21:12 was less than a minute behind standout Josie Olsen of Deubrook Area. Olsen won the race in 20:33.

With parts to the traditional course under water…

The course was altered due to the record amounts of rain in the last week, and runners ran a 1500-meter loop three times, before finishing with a short 500-meter loop. Only a four-hole section of the nine-hole course was dry enough to race on.

Jayce Fischer had a great showing, placing 7thwith a time of 21:38, as she pressed the pace with each of loop.

Laura Bogue had the best race of her season with her 8thplace finish in 22:41. Jordyn Fisher was right on Bogue’s heels, finishing in 9thplace with a time of 22:43.

Gabrielle Engbarth had another solid race, medaling in 13thplace with a time of 23:02.

Grace Quartier continued her strong senior campaign with a 23rdplace time of 24:11. Completing the varsity team were senior Faith Weiland in 25thplace (24:26) and Adyson Hansen in 26th(24:40).

The meet scored the top three placers for team points, and the Watchdogs edged Deubrook Area 14-17 for the team title.

A “new look” boys team toed the starting line at 1:30 PM, poised for their shot to battle for a team title.

With the top five boys racing at the end of the week in Lennox, a new crew got the call to race the 5K and represent the Watchdogs at Colman.

After a relaxed start near the back of the back to avoid any trouble, the young varsity team jostled their way to the front of the pack.

Quartet of freshmen first to make a move

The quartet of freshman Tommy Cordell, sophomore Cody Klungseth, 7thgrader Andrew Atwood, and junior Caleb Weiland were the first to make a move to the front of the winding course.

It was tough work passing on the narrow curves, but the Beresford boys made up ground with each loop.

Cordell was the first to cross the tape for the Watchdogs, finishing 7thwith a time of 19:17. Klungseth was 9thin 19:24, and Atwood fought off a severe side cramp to hold on for 11thplace in 19:29.

Weiland held on for a meet medal with a 16thplace time of 19:54.

Also running for the varsity boys were Isaiah Richards in 28th(20:44), Nate Kropuenske in 35th(20:56), Josh Limmer in 36th(21:01), and Gage Lyle in 37th(21:13).

The gutsy racing from all of the boys helped them beat Dell Rapids St. Mary 24-27 for the team trophy. It is the 5thmeet championship for the varsity boys this season.

The JV girls had a very low score…

The JV girls had a very low score of nine points, as they ran away with the team victory in the 3K race. Elkton-Lake Benton was 2ndwith 16 points.

The foursome of Maiya Muller in 4th(13:49), Lucy Farley in 5th(13:51), Kylie Dressen in 6th(13:56), and Macy Quartier in 7th(13:56) led the way for the girls.

Isabel DeLay (14:34) and Maria Reaves (14:43), just missed top-10 medals with their 11thand 12thplace finishes.

Lilly Traxler (14th, 15:08), Trisha Reisdorff (17th, 15:44), Abigail Zanter (20th, 17:07), Ashleigh Colford (21st, 17:14), Shae Jones (22nd, 17:22), and Dani Larsen (23rd, 17:32) rounded out the team.

The JV boys had a great day as well, placing runner-up to Deubrook Area 7-19 in the team race.

Freshman Max Orr was the front-runner for Beresford, sprinting to a 6thplace finish in 12:16. 8thgrader Cameron Wells was right behind Orr in 7thplace with a time of 12:18.

Junior Caleb Larson had a breakout race, grabbing a medal with his 10thplace time of 12:20.

Seventh grader, Cameron Strom placed 15thin 12:36, and freshman Ashton Honaker cracked the top-20 with his 20thplace time of 13:05.

Also running for the JV boys’ squad were Jon DeLay (22nd, 13:15), Kaden Anderson (26th, 13:32), Billy Roelke (28th, 13:39), Austin Tjaden (30th, 13:53), Jase Tiedeman (31st, 13:54), Chase Lyle (32nd, 14:00), Kalub Bickett (33rd, 14:05), Jaden Muller (34th, 14:20), Spencer Upton (38th, 14:30), Noah Colford (40th, 14:37), and Levi Gillespie (46th, 16:50).

The Watchdogs will enter the post season next week as they travel to Garretson on Thursday, October 4, for the Big East Conference cross country meet.

Leave a Comment:

Leave a Comment: